Why I Declined the Advisory Board Role for the Strategic AI Program at Ashland University

Christopher Collins
3 min readNov 17, 2023

The LinkedIn Approach: An Initial Spark of Opportunity

My journey towards a significant decision in my professional life began unexpectedly with a LinkedIn message from Logan Parry. The message was a clear and direct proposition. Logan outlined an opportunity for me to join the Advisory Board for the Strategic AI Program at Ashland University, citing that my background seemed to be a good fit.

His words were encouraging: “We have an opening on the Advisory Board for the Strategic AI Program at Ashland University. Your background seems to be a good fit. If you’d like to jump on a quick call to explore further, please book a call directly on my program manager’s calendar…” This invitation was not just a call to a potential new role but a nod to my professional capabilities and the possible impact I could have in the field of Strategic AI.

This initial contact ignited a spark of excitement within me. The prospect of aligning my skills and experiences with a new venture in such a dynamic and evolving field was invigorating. It seemed like an opportunity to contribute to a significant area of academia and industry, potentially influencing the trajectory of AI education and its application.

Transition to Skepticism: The Call with Eric Taylor

This excitement led to a scheduled call with Eric Taylor, the Program Manager for the Strategic AI & Customer Experience Program. It was during this conversation that my perspective began to shift. The revelation that the Advisory Board role likely required enrolling in and paying for a course was both surprising and concerning.

The intriguing aspect of their model was in offering the title of ‘Advisory Board Member’ to individuals for a fee of $1,500 (a 70% reduction price for enrolling in their course). This fee granted the title for one year only and implied an expectation for these members to contribute to enhancing the course. Subsequently, the university aimed to sell the course for a full rate of $5,000.

Facing an Ethical Crossroads

This unexpected prerequisite presented a stark contrast to my initial expectations. The idea of paying for what seemed like a merit-based position conflicted with my professional ethics. It raised critical questions about the nature of the role and the underlying values of the institution.

Upholding Professional Integrity

Confronted with this ethical dilemma, I decided to decline the offer. This decision, while difficult, was a stand for maintaining integrity and authenticity in my professional pursuits.

Reflecting on the Broader Academic Landscape

This experience illuminated certain trends within academic recruitment, highlighting the potential commodification of roles in educational institutions. It underscored the importance of transparency and ethical practices in these processes.

A Path Forward Anchored in Values

As I continue my professional journey, including the completion of a comprehensive thesis, this experience has heightened my awareness of the complexities surrounding academic opportunities. It has reinforced the importance of ensuring that career decisions are in harmony with personal and professional ethics. Moving forward, I remain dedicated to pursuing roles where my contributions are recognized for their intrinsic value. I will not pay any institution to give my advice.

--

--

Christopher Collins

I write about coding, crypto, the tech future,please follow my publication https://medium.com/aiwriters/ 😀